You are here: Home About Keble Chapel This Term in Chapel

This Term in Chapel

A list of Chapel services and activities for the current term

Sunday Services & Other Offerings in Hilary Term 2018

Paschal Candle in Chapel

Sundays

5.30pm Sung Eucharist (except where stated otherwise)

The centre of the Chapel's life is our gathering for worship on Sunday evenings, celebrating the presence of Christ in Word and Sacrament. We hear readings from Scripture and a sermon and receive communion. Keble College Chapel Choir sings the setting of the service and an anthem; the congregation joins in hymns and the psalm. All are welcome, whatever your background or experience of church. Drinks are available after the service in part of the Senior Common Room.

Sunday 14 January,
5.30pm
The Second Sunday of Epiphany
Preacher: Revd Nevsky Everett, Chaplain

Sunday 21 January, 5.30pm
The Third Sunday of Epiphany

Preacher: Revd Richard Lloyd Morgan
Former Chaplain, King's College, Cambridge

Sunday 28 January, 5.30pm
Holocaust Memorial Service

Speaker: Revd Patrick Moriarty
Headteacher, Jewish Community Secondary School

Sunday 4 February, 5.30pm
The Second Sunday before Lent
Preacher: Revd Canon Prof. Sarah Coakley                                             Norris-Hulse Professor of Divinity, Cambridge

Sunday 11 February, 5.30pm
The Sunday next before Lent
Preacher: Revd Catriona Cumming
Succentor, York Minster

Sunday 18 February, 5.30 pm
The First Sunday of Lent
Preacher: Revd Darren McFarland
Vicar of St Andrew's, Headington and Assistant Chaplain

Sunday 25 February, 5.30pm
The Second Sunday of Lent
Preacher: Revd Dr James Hanvey, SJ
Master of Campion Hall, Oxford

Sunday 4 March, 5.30pm 
The Third Sunday of Lent
Preacher: Revd Nevsky Everett, Chaplain

SPECIAL SERVICES

Monday 22 January, 8.30pm
An Ecumenical Service for the Week of Prayer for Christian Unity

Friday 26 January, 6 pm 
Roman Catholic Mass

Friday 2 February, 6.30pm
A candlelit Eucharist for the Candlemas

Wednesday 7 February, 7pm 
Corporate Communion
Preacher: Revd Prof. Alister McGrath

Friday 9th February, 9pm
Taize Service

Wednesday 14th February, 6pm
Ash Wednesday


For a complete list of services and social events organised by the Chapel, please see the Term Card or get in touch with the Chaplain.

Our Services in Term
(all services finish in time for dinner in Hall)

Sundays:
Sung Eucharist at 5.30pm with Keble College Chapel Choir

Mondays-Fridays:
Morning Prayer at 8.15am

Eucharist at 12.15pm (Wednesday) and 6.30pm (Tuesday and Thursday)

Evensong with Keble College Chapel Choir at 6pm (Wednesday)

Evening Prayer at 6.30pm (Monday and Friday)

Sung Compline at 9.00pm (Thursdays only)