You are here: Home Prospective Students Graduate Graduate Scholarships

Graduate Scholarships


Graduate scholarships

Keble has a range of graduate scholarship funds generously provided by donors. Some are linked to the University’s Clarendon Fund and do not require separate application. Others are Keble-only scholarships for defined categories of graduates and/or courses, and these do require applications; details are given below. For both kinds of scholarships there is a general preference for full-time graduates intending to start a new course in a research degree (DPhil, MPhil, MLitt, MSc by research, and those studying for a MSt or MSc in Research Methods which is an integral part of a research programme, i.e. only those where an applicant would be registered as a DPhil/MLitt student), but applications for taught masters are sometimes considered.

Any enquires may be directed to

A - Linked Scholarships

In many cases these scholarships are linked to the University’s Clarendon Fund scheme, meaning they provide full fee- and maintenance-funding for students. These  awards are awarded solely on the grounds of outstanding academic merit. Awards are made for up to three years and are coterminous with University fee liability. There is an annual renewal of scholarships subject to satisfactory academic progress.

The scholarships available at Keble through this scheme are:

  • Up to five Sloane Robinson/Clarendon Awards
  • Up to three de Breyne/Clarendon Awards
  • As partnership/matched awards, these scholarships will provide full maintenance and fees support. The application process is automatic, through the normal graduate entry arrangements. See the details here:

B - Keble-only Scholarships

The College will be offering the following scholarships for entry in 2019-20. As these scholarships are only available to those studying at Keble, please ensure we admit for your chosen programme of study before applying. Guidance can be found at

The James Martin Graduate Scholarship

One scholarship that will provide up to £9,000 funding for Home/EU students, who can demonstrate that they are in financial need. Applicants must be intending to study for an MSc in MPLS (mathematical, physical and life sciences), Medical Sciences or Environmental Science. Application form.

Gosden Water-Newton Scholarships

One or more scholarships, each worth up to £10,000 per annum.  Applicants must be either be ordained, or be able to show clear evidence of being in discernment for ordination in the Church of England or a church which is in communion with the Church of England.  Applicants may be intending to study for a postgraduate degree in any faculty in the University of Oxford, or be presently registered for a postgraduate degree in the University of Oxford. Application form.

The Delia Bushell Graduate Scholarship in History

One scholarship, worth £6,250 per annum. Applicants must be intending to study for a postgraduate degree in the History Faculty in the University of Oxford, or be presently registered for a postgraduate degree in the History Faculty in the University of Oxford. Applications will be considered for the Faculty of History and there is no separate application.

Gwynne Jones Scholarship

One scholarship, worth £9,000 per annum, for up to three years. Applicants for this scholarship must either originate from Sierra Leone or be a Yoruba-speaking inhabitant of Nigeria. Application form.

The Ian Tucker Memorial Scholarship

One or more scholarships, worth up to a total of approximately £6,000, for one year only. Applicants must demonstrate sporting prowess - preferably in the field of rugby football - in addition to strong academic ability. Application form.

The Wills-Philpott-Shawcross Divinity Scholarship

One award of £11,000 is available for one year only, jointly funded by Keble College and the Faculty of Theology and Religion. It can be awarded to any applicant for a postgraduate course offered jointly or solely by the Faculty of Theology and Religion, whether Home/EU or Overseas. The recipient will be identified by the Faculty Committee in the context of its ranking of candidates. The intention is to award it to the best candidate although, in the case of a number of equally good candidates being identified, the Committee may take into account whether they have applied to Keble. In any case, the holder would have to be a graduate at Keble (including through migration if necessary

The closing date for these Keble-only awards is 1st March 2019. Where needed, application forms are linked above. All applicants for these awards are expected to have separately submitted their application for University entry by the January 2019 deadline.


SR Building