Wednesday 11 July 2018

Professor Dieter Jaksch awarded Thomas Young Medal

Keble Tutorial Fellow and Professor of Physics Dieter Jaksch has been awarded the 2018 Thomas Young Medal and Prize of the Institute of Physics for his “contributions to theoretical proposals enabling the study of non-equilibrium quantum many-body dynamics with unprecedented microscopic control in ultra-cold atoms, and establishing them as a quantum technologies platform.”

The prestigious medal, named after 19th century polymath Thomas Young, is awarded for distinguished research in the field of optics, including work related to physics outside the visible region. Past recipients include Dennis Gabor, Claude Cohen-Tannoudji and Sir Peter Knight.

More information about the award and Professor Jaksch’s work is available on the Institute of Physics website.